First two weeks in KL - Reisverslag uit Kuala Lumpur, Maleisië van Robert Peeters - WaarBenJij.nu First two weeks in KL - Reisverslag uit Kuala Lumpur, Maleisië van Robert Peeters - WaarBenJij.nu

First two weeks in KL

Door: Robert Peeters

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Robert

11 Augustus 2013 | Maleisië, Kuala Lumpur

Hey people,

In case you were wondering if I'm still alive since you haven't heard from me since I left from NL. No worries, I'm still alive and it took a while to find the time to write about my life in KL.

Let's begin at the beginning. The first two days in KL there were a couple of thoughts I was carrying with me; 'what was I thinking going to KL', 'what the hell am I going to eat over here' and 'I'm gonna die on a disease called loneliness'.The good thing is that I was given a very nice roof above my head and that the landlady has a hart of gold. She took care for me the first couple of days and showed me around the city. I've been randomly walking around to see were I actually lived.

I found out that I was living in place were most things are very cheap except for the beverages I like the most. The beer over here is quite expensive, but this is compensated with the money payed for all other things. Let me give some examples.

A cab ride will cost around € 3, (hehe)
food in a restaurant around € 2,50 (hehe)
Travelling by train € 0,25 (hehe)
Beer: € 6 (auwtschh)

After a couple of days of practically starving and checking out the city I've met some people that came to save me from my loneliness. I've met Christoph( Doing is internship at KL and coming from the same school). He showed me around in the nightlife of KL and introduced me to a lot of people. From that moment on it went really fast. It took me one night of partying and suddely I was invited to do some muy thai boxing, play some football, spin some records with a swedish dj or just to have some drinks the day after. Well that escalated quickly!! That was the night I lost my loneliness and was starting to enjoy/love the city.The day after I went out with total strangers for me and had an awesome evening, at the end of the night I was screaming 'I Love you KL, I love you'. So it took me one week to get used to the city and start to really enjoy it. Not to bad I would say.

After every weekend the week starts. I started my internship at MediacliQ, my first day started of with a small hang over that the city gave me the day before. Apparently I came in at a very busy time for the company, they are involved in two huge campaigns from Nestlé for a product called MILO. to give you a feeling how big MILO is in Malaysia, it's sold more than Coca Cola and Nestlé launches a campaign in September that will cost millions. Sounds awesome, but for me it's not a very good time to start an internship, nobody really has time for me to explain what I should do(I was pretty bored actually). After three days of downloading and checking movies on youtube I decided to take mathers in my own hand and try to get a hold on these projects that are managed by MediacliQ. I've attended all meetings and been to the Nestlé headquarters with my supervisor to get a feeling for the projects. At the moment I'm doing alright only I found out there is still a lot for me to learn before I can be a ral added value to the company. Because I'm involved in these huge projects they require me sometimes to stay at the office till 22.00 or even later, to make sure the crazy Asian deadlines are met.

FYI: MediacliQ is a company that arranges everything for digital marketing, there are web developers, programmers, app developers, writers and game developers. You see people creating games, working with computer language or just chilling and play some pool to empty their minds for new inspiration.

Very interesting environment to be in but it's very hard work and you need to be creative all the time. Every idea needs to be new, inspiring, attractive and innovative.

Anyways, I don't want to spell out every day over here, this is pretty boring to read.

To summarize: I'm having a great time hear now that I know a lot of people, know what to order in a restaurant, start to get a hold on my internship and know the nightlife of this city is absolutely crazy. Talk to you soon!

Yours truly,


Robert Peeters

  • 11 Augustus 2013 - 12:25

    Verow:

    Klinkt goed robert.. jij vermaakt je wel...
    Helaas hebben wij de staatsloterij nog niet gewonnen, dus n kort bezoekje zit er nog niet in..
    Heel veel plezier!! Xx

  • 11 Augustus 2013 - 17:18

    Daniël S:

    Tof om te lezen! zeker hoe dingen vanzelf wel gaan rollen in een vreemd land..!
    Succes & enjoy !


  • 12 Augustus 2013 - 21:43

    Hans:

    waddup, good to hear you are telling loneliness to fuck off
    enjoy and keep smiling all the way bro

  • 12 Augustus 2013 - 22:19

    Koos En Peet:

    Gefeliciteerd kerel,
    Fijn te lezen dat het je goed gaat. Misschien kunnen we een keer FaceTime proberen.
    Groetjes

  • 15 Augustus 2013 - 09:29

    Ilse:

    Haaa Roberto!
    Goed om te lezen dat je t allemaal redt daar!
    Hoop dat je steeds meer kunt betekenen voor t bedrijf daar..
    Nog proficiat met je verjaardag he!
    GENIET en veel succes, xx Ilse

  • 18 Augustus 2013 - 10:39

    Piet En Mariet:

    Hallo Robert,
    Op de eerste plaats nog gefeliciteerd met je verjaardag. Ons Engels is niet zo goed maar wat wij er allemaal uit haal is dat je het al goed redt daar. Je bent niet op je mondje gevallen dus dat gaat wel lukken.
    Wij zien ook dat je de meisjes al voor je gevallen zijn. (HA HA).
    Wij wensen jou veel succes met alles wat je doet.
    Groetjes Piet en Mariet.

  • 26 Oktober 2013 - 23:04

    Marlies En Huub:

    Ha Robert

    Net terug van het feest van Jac en Piet in Belfeld.
    Was erg gezellig.
    Zo te zien gaat het goed met jou.
    Geniet er van, en we zien je wel weer in Zaerum.
    Groetjes Huub en Marlies

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Robert

Actief sinds 14 Nov. 2010
Verslag gelezen: 619
Totaal aantal bezoekers 13172

Voorgaande reizen:

23 Januari 2014 - 25 Juni 2014

Study Abroad

22 Juli 2013 - 07 Januari 2014

Internship Kuala Lumpur

22 Oktober 2010 - 07 Februari 2011

Internship London

Landen bezocht: