My deepest apologies - Reisverslag uit Kuala Lumpur, Maleisië van Robert Peeters - WaarBenJij.nu My deepest apologies - Reisverslag uit Kuala Lumpur, Maleisië van Robert Peeters - WaarBenJij.nu

My deepest apologies

Door: Robert Peeters

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Robert

10 November 2013 | Maleisië, Kuala Lumpur

Dear readers,

First of all I would like to apologize for not writing for such a long time. I know you’ve all been waiting for a story ;-). You don’t have to worry, I’m doing very well it’s just that I’m still very busy.
As most of you probably know, My girlfriend arrived in the beautiful Kuala Lumpur a month ago. As expected, she had seen the city quite fast. Most of things that are on the bucket list when visiting Kuala Lumpur can be seen within a week, the shopping malls, national museum, Batu Caves, Chang kat and of course the diamonds in the sky called the Petrona Towers. Even though the Petrona Towers will amaze you time and time again we planned some thingies that were not on the initial bucket list.

9th Emperor Gods Festival
In the beginning of October we decided to go to the 9th Emperor Gods Festival, the 9th Emperor Festival is for people following the Taoism philosophy. During the festival they worship the 9th Emperor Gods who are star lords that control over life and death.
‘Aha’, very interesting but what is even more interesting is the way they worship these gods. During the festival people put knifes through their cheeks, sticks through their cheeks, huge rings through their nose or all of the above at the same time. ‘Wauw’, they got me interested, I was really looking forward to see this happening. On our way towards the festival I couldn’t keep my excitement and asked a colleague if this was something we were going to see at the festival. She told me ‘are you crazy! Luckily they only do that in Thailand’. OMG my disappointment was complete. Anyways we were heading there anyway so let’s check out what we will see. When we arrived, I was very impressed by the sight, they celebrated the festival around a temple were lots of people were praying and singing. Around the temple there were Chinese Opera’s, preachers and a huge market that provided all food you can imagine. Adventurous as I am (ahum ahum) I tried some local food and was twice very near to pucking. This was the result of eating deep fried durian and smelly tofu. I you are wondering how this tastes, durian literally tastes like shit and smelly tofu tastes like shit after a serious night of drinking.(sorry for the image in the head). I have to say, next to the bad food experiences, I had an amazing time, learned a lot about Taoism, experienced the way Chinese pray/celebrate and I had very nice food as well.

Penang
We had seen Kuala Lumpur for a while already, it was time for something new. New city, new people, new experience. Our next adventure would be Penang, the city of cats. We decided to take a visit for a couple of days. During these days we visited several museums, learned about the British conquerors of Penang, went to a traditional Chinese house from back in the days, checked out Penang Hill, tried the best chocolate in the world and did an overkill when it comes to temples. In our days in Penang we didn’t miss any temple, we visited small temples like the snake temple (with actual snakes) till huge temples where you’ll get lost in a minute. Further we filled our days with chilling at the beach and visiting the local bars. Not a bad holiday if you ask me.

DW
In October there was a pleasant surprise as well, when I was in meeting for work my phone kept on ringing and I was wondering who it was. When the meeting was over I had a chance to check my phone and I saw I missed about 7 calls from Dennis. I was wondering why he needs me that bad. When I called him back he told me that he was in Kuala Lumpur for a day because there was some trouble with his flight to Nepal. ‘Perfect, let’s grab some beers’. When I finished work I went to the city to see my deeply appreciated friend, after some chit chat and some proper Malaysian food we did what we do best. We went to a bar in the city and started drinking.
Our meeting was short because he had an early flight to catch the day after but it was still good to see him. ‘Have fun climbing the Mount Everest hehe!’

Internship MediaCliQ
For my internship itself I’m doing pretty well, still in the middle of some big campaigns that all have been launched.
If you’re wondering what I’m doing for my internship, have a look at the links below. These are the campaigns I’m involved in.
www.milo.com.my/seagames
http://www.milo.com.my/champions/Pages/landing.aspx
http://ww2.nestle.com.my/drumsticks/

These are just the websites, there is a lot more going on, like on-ground events, training camps, social media marketing, commercials, theme songs, newspaper ads, mailings, SMS contests, twitter campaigns sponsoring and more. In the marketing they like to call this 360 marketing, covering all means of communication. Very interesting and very expensive for clients ;-)

Viral Videos
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0yio1Mba_Gc&list=FLaR3uKzS3gnTxrxt5Vp48pQ&feature=mh_lolz
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_M2HmxaJvhI

In the first video I have a role myself, this video is meant to explain the success of the app ‘DRUMSTICK Home of Adventure’ and to let people see what the app does.
The second video is a video that is created out of the kickoff event that is organized for the campaign ‘DRUMSTICK most adventurous’

All quite interesting, this is the stuff I’ve been very busy with since I’ve came here.

Further live is going pretty steady at the moment, I’ve made this city my home and I still love my live at this place. Even though I had I minor setback, since I’ve gotten a really bad injury from indoor football a week ago. I’ve sprained my ankle in the worst way and I haven’t been able to walk for three days and when you see me walking now I look like Lucile Werner. I hope this will heal soon but the doctor says it could take up to six weeks. Till that time I have to be patient and not do any exercises that involve my feet.'Shit'!

Sorry for not writing for such a long time, I swear I will keep you all updated from now on.

Yours Truly,


Robert Peeters

  • 18 December 2013 - 20:40

    Kutfries:

    Hey man, ik weet niet chef maar je hebt het goed voor elkaar daar. Er bestaan dus ook iets minder lekkere maaltijden, een broodje poep laat ik maar wat graag aan me voorbij gaan (ofzo). Ik kan eigenlijk maar 1 negatief ding bedenken en dat is dat er geen schultenbrau is daar (wat een kutstreek). Wat een zwaar leven, denk er maar om dat je niet overspannen wordt ;)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Robert

Actief sinds 14 Nov. 2010
Verslag gelezen: 337
Totaal aantal bezoekers 13174

Voorgaande reizen:

23 Januari 2014 - 25 Juni 2014

Study Abroad

22 Juli 2013 - 07 Januari 2014

Internship Kuala Lumpur

22 Oktober 2010 - 07 Februari 2011

Internship London

Landen bezocht: